Well the big day is just about here.  Originally scheduled to go to Williamsburg, VA, I have modified the ride to head to Big Meadows off of the Blue Ridge Parkway.  I thought it would be a nice ride and based on the weather forecast (when I initially scheduled it), I knew it would be.  I am not sure if any friends would be coming, but I still on planning to go, even though the weather hasn’t been working in our favor.

Speaking of weather, I’d like to say that weather people or meteorologists are the only group of employed people who can be wrong 60% of the time and still maintain their high paying jobs.  I mean wouldn’t it be cheaper to get a group of monkeys, some darts, and a dart board of weather options for our predictions.  Holy crap, the weather is completely inconsistent and there is always a chance of rain….which usually doesn’t pan out.

Anyway, Mother Nature has been pounding the east coast with not just rain, but serious thunderstorms.   Seems like they come in bunches as well.  I waited to the last minute to reserve a room in the area, and because of that I had to pay $60 more for the night than if I had made the reservations three days prior.  Oh well, live and learn.  Regardless of the weather, Rachel and I are going to make the trip, on the bike.  I have a set of rain gear, which I tried out while in Tennessee last year. I will make sure she is wearing it and I will just go without.  We will look into new rain gear for her later, but for this trip it shouldn’t be too bad.

Initially, I planned to meet friends at 10am at the Harley Davidson in Frederick, but not sure if anyone will want to come because of the unpredictable and rather hazardous weather that has been forecast. If I plan on taking more road trips with the bike, then I have to be prepared to ride in not so sunny weather, and this will be an experience for Rachel as it will be her first time dealing with rain using a half-helmet.  If you’ve never had to do it before, it is a treat.  Falling rain while travel at 55+ MPH feel more like pebbles hitting your face.  I can bring the full face helmet for her just so she won’t have to deal with all the “pain”.  Anyway, hopefully tomorrow we will be posting more as we trek down south, this time we pictures.

Keep safe, and happy riding

