Day 7 – 5/23/2014
Start / End: Columbia, SC to Lexington, VA
Distance: 329miles
Time: 10hrs 2mins

This morning started like all the rest, the alarm gets be out of bed and by 10am, I am on the road.  I know I want to ride the Blue Ridge Parkway, which will slow me down by half, but that road is the reason we ride bikes, since I am down here it doesn’t make any sense to miss out.

I pushed on to Charlotte, VA and had to top off the fuel, and was again greeted with construction traffic.  The number of cagers and semis on the road does cause a considerable amount of traffic and we actually ended up stopping…….yippie.  I honestly couldn’t tell you why we needed to stop, but we did.  I made my way up Interstate 77, making more frequent stops at rest areas just to stretch and get the pain out of my butt.  Yes, I have one.  Around 1pm, I was across the state line.

BRP

BRP

Stop 1: Fancy Gap, VA – Although I wasn’t empty, I wanted to top off because gas stations aren’t as frequent on the Blue Ridge Parkway (BRP), and it was time to eat lunch in any case.  I stopped off at a small mom and pops diner, called Lake View, and grabbed a handmade cheeseburger.  It was really good.  The atmosphere was country, but they were friendly and quick and I received my hot food in short order.  With the bike and I topped off, it was time to hit the road.  From the restaurant, the entrance to the parkway was about 100 ft away.

BRP: The speed limit for the road is 45 MPH, which actually is a very good speed because some of the switchbacks will have you going in the opposite direction.  If you enjoy the Tail of the Dragon, then you’ll enjoy this road.  There are lots of turns and I took it for about 170 miles.  I stopped every once in a while to get a picture of the scenery or to just take a break from riding.  Leaning left and right can wear you out if you let it.  I had considered going all the way home tonight, but if you do take the BRP, you need to account that you are doubling your time to travel the same distance.  I arrived in Lexington, VA or Buena Vista, VA around 8pm.  I jumped on BRP at 2pm and except for a couple of stops, I didn’t deviate but only traveled 170 miles.  If I had stayed on 81N, I would have been almost, if not home at this point.  But like I said in the beginning, it is all about the ride, not how quickly I can get to the destination.

BRP

BRP

Day 7 ended in Lexington, VA [Buena Vista] at 8pm.  Clear weather, with a moment of cloudiness.  The temperature started at 82 degrees and north of Winston Salem, the temperature dropped 15 degrees.  I had to pull over and put on a jacket.  The wind increased and the temperature kept dropping the rest of the ride.  This was a really good riding day.  A little exhausting and I’m going to reevaluate my route tomorrow.  Last night away from home.

 

Go to Day 8 ->

